Hellnotes Interview

Thanks to Gordon White for asking such excellent questions in this Hellnotes interview. We talked about I Wish I Was Like You (due from JournalStone on July 7th), the novel’s origins and my connections to the Pacific Northwest.

During the period in which I Wish I Was Like You is set, there were ongoing clashes between people who imagined a much bigger city where they could make a lot more money, and people who realized that the gentility of their circumstances would soon be destroyed by the affluence of more ambitious residents. I found these juxtapositions fascinating. I’ve tried to portray this sense of a location sliding inexorably toward a different way of life, and the strange loneliness of people caught between these worlds.

Front_Cover_Image_I_Wish_I_Was_Like_You-423x628

Leave a Reply

